GSK announces changes to the Board

GSK announces changes to the Board

Friday 27 January 2012, London, UK

GlaxoSmithKline plc today announced that at the company's Annual General Meeting (AGM) in 2013, following nine years of respective service to the GSK Board, Sir Crispin Davis, Sir Robert Wilson and Mr Larry Culp will not stand for re-election to the Board.

The Board has agreed the following succession arrangements in respect of the Committees on which they serve:

Mr. Tom de Swaan will succeed Sir Crispin Davis as Chairman of the Remuneration Committee with effect from 1 January 2013. Mr de Swaan has been a member of the Remuneration Committee since May 2009.
Ms. Judy Lewent will succeed Mr. Tom de Swaan as Chair of the Audit & Risk Committee with effect from 1 January 2013. Ms. Lewent has been a member of the Audit & Risk Committee since April 2011. Mr de Swaan will remain a member of the Audit & Risk Committee following Ms Lewent's appointment.
Sir Deryck Maughan will succeed Sir Robert Wilson as Senior Independent Non-Executive Director with effect from the closure of GSK's AGM in 2013.

In addition, Mr. James Murdoch has decided not to stand for re-election to the Board at GSK's AGM in 2012.

Commenting on the changes, Sir Christopher Gent, Chairman of GSK, said:

"These changes represent a proactive set of steps to ready the Board for future changes in its composition as a number of senior, long-standing Directors stand down in 2013. I would like to put on record my thanks to Crispin, Robert and Larry who have served GSK's Board with distinction for many years and I'm sure will continue to do so until their retirement next year."

"In addition, James Murdoch has decided to stand down from the Board with effect from this year's AGM. James has taken this decision to focus on his current duties as Non-executive Chairman of BSkyB, and following his decision to re-locate to the United States, as Chairman and Chief Executive, International, of News Corporation. On behalf of the Board, I would like to thank James for the very strong contribution he has made since he was appointed in 2009 and wish him well for the future."

Victoria Whyte
Company Secretary


GSK Board of Directors:

Sir Christopher Gent  Non-Executive Chairman

Sir Andrew Witty  Chief Executive Officer

Simon Dingemans   Chief Financial Officer

Moncef Slaoui   Executive Director, Chairman, Research & Development

Professor Sir Roy Anderson   Independent Non-Executive Director

Dr Stephanie Burns   Independent Non-Executive Director

Ms Stacey Cartwright   Independent Non-Executive Director

Mr Lawrence Culp   Independent Non-Executive Director

Sir Crispin Davis   Independent Non-Executive Director

Ms Judy Lewent   Independent Non-Executive Director

Sir Deryck Maughan   Independent Non-Executive Director

Mr James Murdoch  Independent Non-Executive Director

Dr Daniel Podolsky   Independent Non-Executive Director

Mr Tom de Swaan   Independent Non-Executive Director

Sir Robert Wilson   Senior Independent Non-Executive Director

GlaxoSmithKline - one of the world's leading research-based pharmaceutical and healthcare companies - is committed to improving the quality of human life by enabling people to do more, feel better and live longer. For further information please visit

GlaxoSmithKline Enquiries:

UK Media enquiries:

David Mawdsley

+44 (0) 20 8047 5502



Stephen Rea

+44 (0) 20 8047 5502



Sarah Spencer

+44 (0) 20 8047 5502



David Daley

+44 (0) 20 8047 5502





US Media enquiries:

Kevin Colgan

+1 919 483 2839

(North Carolina)


Melinda Stubbee

+1 919 483 2839

(North Carolina)


Sarah Alspach

+1 919 483 2839

(Washington, DC)


Jennifer Armstrong

+1 919 483 2839




Analyst/Investor enquiries:

Sally Ferguson

+44 (0) 20 8047 5543



Tom Curry

+ 1 215 751 5419



Gary Davies

+ 44 (0) 20 8047 5503



Jeff McLaughlin

+ 1 215 751 7002



Ziba Shamsi

+ 44 (0) 20 8047 3289