GPhA announces 2013 Board of Directors

ORLANDO, FL (February 21, 2013) — The Generic Pharmaceutical Association (GPhA), which represents the world's leading generic drug manufacturers and suppliers, today announced the election of its 2013 Executive Committee and Board of Directors.

Tony Mauro, president of Mylan North America, was elected as GPhA Board Chairman for a second year. He served as Chairman of the Association in 2012. The Chairman can be re-elected for up to two one-year terms.

Tony Mauro commented: "I'm honored to have been elected to serve a second term as chairman of GPhA's Board of Directors. The role that the generics industry plays in providing sustainable healthcare solutions for patients in the U.S. and around the world has never been more important. Indeed, the expanded use of generic prescription medicines has helped to save the American health care system more than $1 trillion over the past decade – a record figure that averages out to more than $1 billion every other day. As chairman, I'm committed to providing passionate leadership in partnership with our members and GPhA leadership to make progress on our joint goal of expanding access to high quality, more affordable medicines.

"We are grateful for the vision and support of the 2012 Board of Directors, and we are excited to move ahead with our Chairman and our 2013 Board," said Ralph G. Neas, President and CEO of GPhA. "In a time of enormous change and growth for our industry, leadership is critical. Our new Board is made up of experienced industry professionals whose guidance will be invaluable in the coming year."

GPhA members also elected Don DeGolyer, President and CEO, Sandoz US as Vice Chairman, and Craig Wheeler, President & CEO, Momenta Pharmaceuticals, as Secretary Treasurer. Other Board of Directors are Debra Barrett, Senior Vice President, Global Government Affairs & Public Policy, Teva Pharmaceuticals; Carole Ben-Maimon, M.D., President, Global Pharmaceuticals (div) of Impax Laboratories, Inc.; Doug Boothe, Executive Vice President & General Manager, Perrigo Pharmaceuticals; Chuck Caprariello, Vice President of Corporate Communications & Government Affairs, Ranbaxy, Inc.; John Ducker, President & CEO, Fresnius-Kabi USA; Jeffrey Glazer, President and CEO, Heritage Pharmaceuticals Inc.; Charlie Mayr, Chief Communications Officer - Global, Actavis Inc.; Thomas Moore, President USA, Hospira Inc.; Chirag Patel, Chief Executive Officer, Amneal Pharmaceuticals LLC; Joseph Renner, President & CEO, Zydus Pharmaceuticals USA; George Stevenson, President & CEO, Kremers-Urban Pharmaceuticals Inc.; Jeff Watson, President, Apotex Corporation.

GPhA represents the manufacturers and distributors of finished generic pharmaceuticals, manufacturers and distributors of bulk pharmaceutical chemicals, and suppliers of other goods and services to the generic industry. Generic pharmaceuticals fill 80 percent of the prescriptions dispensed in the U.S. but consume just 27 percent of the total drug spending. Additional information is available at