Lonza to Adapt its Management Structure to Focus on Target Markets and Improve Profitability

Lonza to Adapt its Management Structure to Focus on Target Markets and Improve Profitability

Basel, Switzerland, 4 February 2013 – Lonza today announced its plans to adapt the management structure of the company to focus on its target markets and to improve the effectiveness of its worldwide organizational structure and operations. 

Effective immediately, the Management Committee will be newly renamed Executive Committee and will consist of five members: Richard Ridinger - CEO, Toralf Haag - CFO, Marc Funk - CLO, Stephan Kutzer - COO and Beat In-Albon - COO.  

In alignment with Lonza markets, the current Custom Manufacturing and Bioscience sectors will be regrouped into one pharma market segments group.  Microbial Control and Life Science Ingredients will be regrouped into a specialty ingredients market segments group. Our market segment groups will be overseen by the entire Executive Committee, represented mainly by Stephan Kutzer and Beat In-Albon respectively. 

"The new lean Executive Committee will allow us to focus our organization toward our target markets underpinned with Operational Excellence and state-of-the-art corporate services. Following these changes at the top level management we will gradually roll out subsequent organizational changes throughout the company," comments Lonza CEO Richard Ridinger. "We will create a lean organization focused on improving efficiency and profitability with dedicated market orientation". 

"One year ago we announced our emphasis on 'Focus and Deliver' as guiding principles. Richard Ridinger has applied these principles for the Visp Challenge Project as well as in his evaluation of our corporate and operational structure," said Lonza Chairman Rolf Soiron. "I am pleased to see Richard Ridinger implementing further steps to focus our organization on customers, but also to lay the ground work for sustainable improvement of returns on capital invested." 

In connection with this new management structure Jeanne Thoma, Uwe Böhlke and Lukas Utiger will today step down from their former Management Committee function. We thank them for their commitment and valuable contributions.